アリーナ・ソーモワ
子ども時代、入団1年目、マヤ・プリセツカヤのこと、プリンシパル昇格。

2011年のpointemagazine.comとtimeout.comからそれぞれ抜粋と、試訳。

**********⭐️

pointemagazine.com
The Soul of a Star
Posted on November 15, 2011
2011年11月15日
by Elizabeth Kendall

This is the Kirov’s youngest ballerina, she of the phenomenal extensions that float up from ground to ear, of the showmanship that looks both bravura and smooth. At 26, Somova has danced all the major roles. She has beauty, stamina, elegant line. Yet reviewers still can’t decide if she’s a technical wonder with no soul, or a young artist with a soul that’s just not always visible onstage. “Dancer or circus pony?” went a 2009 headline in the London Telegraph. Writer Ismene Brown concluded she was both, but growing in the right direction.

これがキーロフバレエ団で一番若いバレリーナ、床から耳元までフワッと上げる驚くべき開脚、華麗で滑らかな動きを見せる能力をもったバレリーナだ。アリーナ・ソーモワは26才ですべての主役をこなしてきた。美しさとスタミナ、そして優美な身体の線を持っている。ただし、批評家はソーモワが魂がこもらずテクニックが秀でているだけなのか、それとも、舞台上でいつも見ることができるとは限らないが魂のこもった若き芸術家なのか、判断がつかないでいる。「ダンサー、それともサーカスの仔馬?」、この見出しが2009年のロンドン・テレグラフの一面を飾った。筆者イズミーニ・ブラウンはその両方だが、正しい方向に成長していると結論付けた。

#КонекГорбунок#царьдевица#мариинскийтеатр

A photo posted by Alina Somova (@alina2217) on

.

One would expect, given such controversy, somebody either defensive or remote. Somova is anything but. At her Pointe photo shoot, she sweetly puts on the suggested leotard, tights and chiffon skirt, then stands under lights on a white paper square, blond hair loose. The photographer instructs; the makeup guy darts in and out. She strikes a pose on pointe, then another and another. Each position gets a fresh smile for the click. In between she stands in that somehow endearing pointe-shoe-heels-on-floor stance—ready to hear what’s wanted next. There’s an unspoiled girl inside the goddess wrapping.

そのような批評があると、防御的になるかよそよそしくなるものだが、ソーモワはそのどちらでもない。ポワントマガジンの撮影現場では、指定されたレオタードとタイツ、シフォンのスカートを快く着用すると、ブロンドの髪をほどいてライトの下、白い紙の四角い場所の上に立つ。写真家が指示すると、メーキャップ係が直ちに出入りする。ソーモワはポワントで立って次々とポーズをきめる。ポーズごとにシャッターに向け笑顔をつくる。合間には、どこかかわいらしくポワントシューズのかかとをつけて立ち、次の指示を待つ。女神の装いの内側にしつけの良い女子がいる。

When she was small, Somova went to a regular St. Petersburg school, then a special math school at her mother’s insistence. Her mother wanted her to excel at sports too, especially her mother’s favorite, skiing. But skiing wasn’t easy in Russia in the 1990s, with the country in the midst of a political and economic transition. “So Mama took me, with baby sister in her arms—and I wasn’t much bigger—to the ‘dance krushok,’ ” a dance “circle” for children. The teachers recognized her physical gifts. When it came time to choose math or ballet, “there was no choice,” Somova says. The dance teachers insisted. She did a pre-curriculum year at St. Petersburg’s renowned Vaganova Academy, then the regular eight-year course. Those teachers pushed too. The last one, Ludmilla Safronova, cooked Somova food at home before dance exams—“meat, for strength,” Somova says. Makhar Vaziev, then Kirov Ballet head, all but promised her a place in the company if she worked on her feet.

まだ小さかった頃、ソーモワはサントペテルスブルグの普通の学校に通い、その後、母親の希望で数学の特別校に行った。母親は、また、スポーツ、特に自分の好みだったスキーに秀でることを望んだ。だが、政治経済の移行期だった1990年代のロシアで、スキーをするのは容易ではなかった。「そこで、母は、ベビーシッターを連れ、私はまだ「ダンス・クルショク」には幼かったので、」子供のためのダンス「サークル」に連れて行った。先生たちはソーモワの身体能力に注目した。数学かバレエを選ぶ時が来て、「選択肢はなかった」とソーモワが話す。ダンスの先生たちの熱心な勧めで、サントペテルスブルグの名高いワガノワアカデミーのプレスクールに入り、引き続き8年間の本コースに通った。アカデミーの先生たちも後押しした。最終学年の先生、リュドミラ・サフロノワはダンスの試験の前にソーモワを自宅に呼んで料理してくれた。「体力をつけるためのお肉料理だった」とソーモワが語った。当時キーロフバレエ団の芸術監督だったマハル・ワジエフは、努力することを条件にバレエ団への入団を約束したようなものだった。

Of course, the child had to love what she was doing—and Somova did. Even the drudgery of first-year pliés didn’t spoil her love of dancing. Nor did the grueling commute. The family lived far from the centrally located Vaganova school, on the Vyborg side of St. Petersburg. The little girl had to get up at 6 am for an hour tram ride (if she could catch it), or else a mix of subways and buses, then repeat it all in the other direction. “There were awful crowds—baboulichikis [grandmother types] who never gave you a place. I had to stand—with a backpack bigger than me!”

もちろん、子供は自分のしていることが好きでなければならない。ーそして、ソーモワは自分のしていることが好きだった。1年生の時の単調なプリエの繰り返しでさえ、バレエ対する愛情を失うことはなかった。または、骨の折れる通学でさえもだった。一家は町中心部に位置するワガノワアカデミーから遠く、サントペテルスブルグのヴィボルグ側に住んでいた。幼いソーモワは6時に起きて(間に合えば)トラムに1時間乗り、そうでなければ地下鉄とバスを乗り継ぎ、その往復だった。「ひどい混みようで、ーbaboulichikis(おばあさんタイプ)は決して席を譲ってくれなかった。自分より大きいバックパックを背負って立っていなければなりませんでした」

Somova also admits to a competitive streak. “I always wanted to be best,” she says almost happily. “I had to stand in the center. I liked corrections! If somebody was better, it was a tragedy for me. It was the Kirov or nothing.”

ソーモワはまた、競争心のことも打ち明ける。「私はいつでも一番でいたかった」と半ば嬉しそうに話す。「中央に立たなければなりませんでした。直されるのが好きでした! 誰かの方が上手だったら、私にとって悲劇でした。キーロフバレエ団にどうしても入りたかった」

2000 Vaganova 5th Year Class Jumps Alina Somova / 2000年5年生
Рената Халимова
Published on 31 May 2013

Once she was in, the red carpet was rolled out for the long limbs and proud bearing. She was cast as Odette/Odile in her first year. “It was crazy for a girl new to the theater to get Swan Lake, when so many wait for it for years,” she says a little ruefully. The next year, 2004, she became a soloist. She was helped by a caring coach, ex-ballerina Olga Chenchikova, who ran a mini-academy for her young charges, giving them floor barres and extra conditioning. “Chenchikova turned an ugly duckling into a ballerina,” Somova says. When Chenchikova left the Kirov with her husband, Vaziev (he took the dance post at La Scala), Somova got another top-notch coach, ex-ballerina powerhouse Tatiana Terekhova. They chose each other, in fact, after working together in rehearsals of Balanchine’s Symphony in C (Terekhova was in charge). “She has the pure Leningrad style, the style of Kolpakova,” says Somova of Terekhova, comparing her to Irina Kolpakova, now a ballet master with American Ballet Theatre. “And she doesn’t try to break me, like some other coaches try to do; she doesn’t want to see a copy of herself. She leaves me my ‘I.’”

入団すると、手足の長い誇り高いソーモワのために赤いジュータン敷かれた。1年目でオデット/オディールの役がついた。「大勢のバレリーナが長年待ち望んでいる中で、新人が白鳥の湖を踊るのは驚異でした」と悲しげに話す。翌年、2004年にソリストになった。ソーモワは面倒見のよい元バレリーナのオルガ・チェンチコワについた。チェンチコワは自分の若い弟子のために小規模な学校を運営し、床でのストレッチと調整を行っていた。「チェンチコワはみにくいアヒルの子をバレリーナに変身させました」とソーモワが話す。チェンチコワが夫ワジエフ(ミラノスカラ座バレエ団に移籍)とともにバレエ団を去ると、ソーモワは新しく一流のコーチ、元バレリーナでエネルギッシュなタチアナ・トレコワについた。実は、(トレコワが担当していた)バランシンのシンフォニー・インCのリハーサルで共に稽古した後、お互いに相手を選んだのだ。ソーモワはトレコワについて「純粋なレニングラードのスタイル、コルパコワのスタイルがある」と話す。比較しているのは現アメリカンバレエシアター芸術監督イリーナ・コルパコワだ。「それに、他のコーチとは違い私らしさを壊そうとはしません。自分のコピーを望まず、私の「私」を残してくれます」

 

**********⭐️

timeout.com
Alina Somova
The Russian ballerina takes on Manhattan.
By Gia Kourlas Thu Jun 30 2011

What is your relationship with Maya Plisetskaya? How did you meet?
マヤ・プリセツカヤとはどのような関係ですか。出会いはなんだったのですか?

I first met Maya Plisetskaya in Spain where there was a gala in her honor with dancers from all over the world, and I was there too. I went to her dressing room before the performance with the book I, Maya Plisetskaya. My mum gave it to me for my 14th birthday. I loved that book and read it many, many times; I took it to Maya Mikhailovna to get her to autograph it. I told her how much I admired her, that it was always lying on my desk when I was studying, and that I could never have dreamed of actually meeting her and talking with her. Maya Mikhailovna signed it for me. And what surprised me more than anything was that I had never imagined she would know who I was—I was just another dancer. But Maya Mikhailovna wrote, “To Alinochka with my admiration.” It both touched and amazed me that she knew my name. That meeting took place two years before the premiere of The Little Humpbacked Horse.

411kyruxs3l-_sx321_bo1204203200_

“私、マヤ・プリセツカヤ”

マヤ・プリセツカヤとの出会いはスペインでした。そこでプリセツカヤを讃えたガラ公演があり、世界中からバレエダンサーが集まっていて、私もその一人でした。公演の前に「私、マヤ・プリセツカヤ」という本を持って楽屋を訪ねました。14才の誕生日に母からもらったプレゼントです。その本がとても気に入り、何度も読み返しました。その本にサインをもらうためマヤ・ミハイロヴナのところへ持って行きました。私がどれだけ憧れているか、勉強の時は常に机の上にその本を置いていたこと、実際にお会いしてお話しするとは夢にも思わなかったことを話しました。マヤ・ミハイロヴナはサインしてくれました。そして、何よりも驚いたことに私が誰かをご存知で、そんなことは想像だにしませんでした。単なるダンサーの一人の私のことをです。でも、マヤ・ミハイロヴナは、「アリノチュカへ。敬意をこめて」と書いてくれました。私の名前をご存知だったなんて感動的で驚きでした。それは、「イワンと仔馬」の初演の2年前のことでした。

.

The next time was at the Mariinsky Theatre after the orchestral rehearsal of The Little Humpbacked Horse, which was attended by Maya Mikhailovna and [her husband,] Rodion Konstantinovich Shchedrin. My partner, Leonid Sarafanov, and I approached them to convey our thanks and gratitude. Maya Mikhailovna encouraged us, wished us success and said that we were wonderful, that she liked the production and that the audience would too. And after the premiere she came backstage. I don’t remember anything of what was said; after the premiere I was so full of emotions, I was on cloud nine, in a state of euphoria, and my head was buzzing. Maya Mikhailovna kissed me, hugged me, and I saw her taking off her earrings and giving them to me. And no words were needed.

次にお会いしたのは、「イワンと仔馬」のオーケストラリハーサルの後でした。マヤ・ミハイロヴナと[ご主人の]ロディオーン・コンスタンチーノヴィチ・シチェドリーンはリハーサルに出席していました。パートナーのレオニード・サラファノフと私は二人のところにご挨拶に行きました。マヤ・ミハイロヴナは私たちを励まし成功を祈り、私たちを褒めてくださり、この作品を気に入っていること、観客もきっと気にいるといってくださいました。舞台のあと楽屋に来てくださいました。話の内容は覚えていません。舞台直後で、私はとても感動していて、至福の状態で、陶酔感の中にあり、頭の中はガンガン鳴っていました。マヤ・ミハイロヴナはキスして抱きかかえてくれて、イヤリングを外して私にくださいました。言葉は必要ありませんでした。

Спасибо, Майя Михайловна!

A photo posted by Alina Somova (@alina2217) on

.

You performed Swan Lake at the very beginning of your career. What was the preparation process like? Also, how has your Odette-Odile developed over time?
キャリアの最初に白鳥の湖を踊りましたね。稽古はどのようなものでしたか。また、あれ以来、ソーモワさんのオデット/オディールはどう変化しましたか。

I well remember that my premiere in Swan Lake took place on May 13 during my first year at the theater. That was eight years ago. Gradually I became familiar with the role, and I started to learn the variations with my teacher at the time, Olga Ivanovna Chenchikova, immediately after joining the Mariinsky Ballet in the summer. In class, we studied the text of the role, and then I asked to rehearse with different partners and try things out; sometimes we were even rehearsing Swan Lake on trains. Probably the work took over six months. For me, Swan Lake was and still is the highest achievement any ballerina can attain. It is the quintessence of the beauty of classical ballet. Both psychologically and physically, it was a tremendous strain as it was my first role in a ballet with several acts. And, of course, some things have changed since then. Today, I can say that the greatest difficulty for me lies in the “white” part of the ballet. But back then I think that I found it very hard to dance as Odile, as the “black” act is much more technically demanding.

入団1年目の5月13日に行われた初めての白鳥の湖は、よく覚えています。8年前のことです。徐々に役柄に馴染んでいきました。マリインスキーバレエ団に入団してすぐに、当時のコーチ、オルガ・オワノブナ・チェンチコワについてバリエーションの練習を始めました。お稽古場では、役柄の原文を学び、私は何人かのパートナーとリハーサルすることを希望して試しました。時には列車内でも白鳥の湖を練習しました。おそらく練習に半年かかったと思います。私にとって、白鳥の湖は当時も今でもバレリーナが達成できる最高のバレエです。古典バレエの美の精髄です。複数幕もののバレエでの初役だったので、心理的にも体力的にも相当なストレスでした。そして、もちろん、あれ以来いくつかは変化しています。今言えるのは、最も難しいのは「白」の役です。ただ、当時はオディールを踊るのが難しいと感じました。「黒」の場面は技術的に難しいものを要求されるからです。

.

How do you deal with jealousy or competitiveness?
嫉妬や競争にどのように対処しますか。

I really try not to react to such things. For me, the important thing is not to get emotionally involved in rivalry or competitiveness. That kind of emotion absorbs a lot of energy and strength. And often people or situations can make you flare up emotionally. I always try never to react, not to get involved, not to be jealous and to keep a distance.

そのようなことには応じないようひたすら努めています。私にとって大切なことは、ライバル心や競争心に感情的に関わることではありません。そのような感情はエネルギーや体力を消耗してしまいます。人や状況は一瞬にして感情的に高揚しがちです。私は決して応じたり、巻き込まれたり、嫉妬したりしないように、そして、距離を保つように、常に努めています。

How was it that you were promoted to the rank of principal dancer?
プリンシパルダンサーに昇格したときは、どのようでしたか。

I don’t know; everything was decided without me and I learned about it on the Internet.

わかりません。私抜きですべてが決定されますし、昇格についてはネットで知りました。

Seriously? In a newspaper article? How did that make you feel?
本当ですか。ニュース記事で?どう感じましたか?

That story is absolutely true. I found out that I had been made a prima ballerina on the Mariinsky Theatre website. Or rather my sister found out. She was looking at the theater’s website to see the repertoire and she clicked on the page of the ballet company and saw that I was listed as a prima ballerina. She told me. Honestly, I didn’t actually believe it, I thought it must be a mistake or misprint. And then, a little while later, it was confirmed by the director of the ballet company that I had been made a prima ballerina.

本当に本当です。プリマバレリーナになったことは、マリインスキー劇場のウェブサイトで知りました。というよりも、妹が見つけました。劇場のウェブサイトでレパートリーを見ていて、バレエ団のページをクリックして私がプリマバレリーナとして載っていることを見つけたんです。妹が教えてくれました。正直言って、とても信じられなくて、何かの間違いか誤掲載に違いないと思いました。そして、少し経ってから、バレエ団芸術監督から私がプリマバレリーナになったことを聞きました。

**********⭐️