Article from The Independent, with Japanese translation.

The Independentの記事(一部省略)と、意訳です。

***

Tamara Rojo: The ballet-dancer-turned-artistic-director on her burst appendix, the Bolshoi acid attack and elitism

Image: ballet.org.uk
Tamara Rojo – Artistic Director

Adam Jacques
アダム・ジャック

Sunday 21 July 2013
2013年7月21日(日)

I was hooked on ballet from an early age I was five, watching a class all dressed in pale-pink led by a thin, beautiful teacher dressed in burgundy. She was so different from the other teachers at my school, who were nuns. My parents didn’t want me to do ballet, so I insisted until they gave up: I used crying and all the manipulative tricks little kids have.

5才の時、ワインレッド色の服を着た細くてきれいな先生が、淡いピンクのお稽古着の生徒を教えているのを見て、バレエの虜になりました。その先生は、学校の先生がみなシスターだった中で、ひと際輝いて見えました。両親はバレエをすることに反対だったので、2人が諦めるまで説得しました。泣いたり、小さな子どもができるすべてのことをしました。

Being a principal dancer was lonely I was only 18 when I moved to Glasgow, as a principal at the Scottish Ballet and I was a principal at the Royal Ballet, too. I didn’t hang out with the rest of the company – as a principal dancer, you rehearse on your own, as you have more responsibilities. I led a reclusive life; I didn’t go out, because I was so exhausted. In that environment, it wasn’t easy to make friends.

プリンシパルダンサーは孤独です。グラスゴーに移ったのはまだ18才の時で、スコティッシュバレエ団のプリンシパルと、ロイヤルバレエ団でもプリンシパルでした。バレエ団のダンサーとつきあうことはありませんでした。プリンシパルダンサーには責任があるので、お稽古は一人でした。疲れ果てていたので外出することもまく、引きこもった生活を送っていました。そんな中で友人を作るのは、容易ではありませんでした。

Glasgow was a dark place It was so cold and it rained every day, so it felt a little miserable at first. I’d just moved away from home [Rojo grew up in Spain] and lost my boyfriend, so the melancholia I felt seemed to fit the city. It was so gloomy that I would switch on every light in every room of the flat. In Madrid, where I trained, even the winter sun looked amazing and the sky was always crystal-clear.

グラスゴーは暗いところでした。とても寒く、毎日雨が降り、最初は少し惨めな気持でした。故郷から離れたばかりで(ロホはスペインで育った)ボーイフレンドもなくし、当時のメランコリーな気分が町の雰囲気にぴったりだったようです。私はあまりにも暗い気持だったので、アパートの全ての部屋の電灯をつけたほどです。私が育ったマドリードは、冬でも太陽が輝き、空はいつも雲ひとつなく晴れ渡っていました。

I felt a pressure to carry on after my appendix burst I was performing as Clara in The Nutcracker, while principal dancer at the English National Ballet, in 2002. [Rojo was rushed to hospital and following treatment was advised to take six weeks’ rest.] I didn’t want to stop or be away from the stage. I came back after two weeks and the management said, “Are you sure you are OK to perform?” And I said yes. I should have said no. [Rojo subsequently returned to hospital.]

盲腸炎になった時、その後続けられるかどうかプレッシャーを感じました。2002年、イングリッシュ・ナショナル・バレエ団のプリンシパルだったとき、「くるみ割り人形」のクララを踊っていました。(ロホは病院に搬送され、術後6週間の安静が必要と告げられた。)舞台を辞めたり離れたりしたくありませんでした。2週間後に戻ると、バレエ団の幹部から本当に踊れるのかと聞かれて、はい、と答えました。でも、いいえ、と答えるべきでした。(ロホは病院に再び戻った。)

/…/
<省略>

Access to culture should be a human right Culture defines us as human. It allows us to express ourselves, it’s the way we learn about history, it’s the way we understand the culture that we live in and it creates a connection between us all. The arts cuts have an impact on this ability, and for the English National Ballet, it means we sometimes can’t go to places that we’ve not been before, or we’re more conservative about the works we introduce.

文化へのアクセスは、私たち人間の権利であるべきです。文化が私たちを人間と定義するのです。文化が私たち自身を表現するよう仕向け、そのよにして私たちは歴史を学び、私たちの生きている文化を理解し、私たちすべてのつながりを創造するのです。芸術文化に対する予算削減はこのような文化の機能に影響を与え、イングリッシュ・ナショナル・バレエ団にとっては、これまで訪れたことのない場所に行くことができなくなり、また、私たちの新しい取り組みが保守的になってしまいます。

Ballet is not elitist It’s for, and by, young people, so it reflects our society today and it’s actually the cheapest art form – you can get tickets for £10. Yes, some pieces may be 100 years old, but the philosophical arguments contained in them are eternal.

バレエは一部の特権階級のものではありません。若者のための若者による芸術で、今日の社会を反映し、実際に最も手頃なアートのかたちです。チケットは10ポンドで手に入ります。そう、中には100年前のバレエもありますが、その内容には哲学的な意味合いがあり、それは永遠です。

We still do the ballet classics for economic reasons But performances such as Swan Lake and The Nutcracker are also important as a first door for many people who otherwise wouldn’t try watching ballet. I also think they are a way to measure the quality of a company and a dancer. But yes, running them constantly can become repetitive.

経済的な理由で、クラシックバレエも演目に取り入れています。「白鳥の湖」や「くるみ割り人形」のようなバレエも大切です。バレエを初めて見る人達が最初に見る演目だからです。また、クラシックバレエを見ると、バレエ団やダンサーの力量がわかると私は考えます。ただ、そればかりでは繰り返しになってしまいます。

I never rest enough It’s what my boyfriend [Olivier award-winning theatre-lighting designer Neil Austin] says. It’s because I’m so driven that I never switch off. He’s says to me, “Take a day off!” But I don’t think I’ll be able to stop until the day I retire.

私は十分に休養を取ることがありません。ボーイフレンド(オリヴィエ賞を受賞した劇場照明デザイナーのネイル・オースティン)にそう言われます。それは、あまりにも没頭していてオフにすることがないからです。彼は「休みを取れ」と言います。でも、リタイヤするまで休むことはできないでしょう。

Tamara Rojo, 39, is the artistic director of the English National Ballet. Its ‘Tribute to Rudolf Nureyev’ is at the London Coliseum from Thursday to 27 August (ballet.org.uk)

タマラ・ロホ(39)は、イングリッシュ・ナショナル・バレエ団芸術監督。同バレエ団の「ルドルフ・ルレエフに捧ぐ」は、ロンドンコリセウム劇場で木曜日から8月27日まで公演。(ballet.org.uk)

In Rehearsal: Swan Lake in-the-round

Published on 4 Jun 2013 by enballet

.