This is from le château de Versailles YouTube video clip.

ベルサイユ宮殿のYouTubeビデオです。

***

La chaise aux marines 海の風景のセダンチェア

Published on 24 Jul 2012 by chateauversailles

English subtitles with Japanese translation 英語の字幕と和訳

This chair from early Louis XV’s reign, entirely covered with seascapes and featuring a masterful “trompe-l’oeil” gilt body is a fine example of forgotten art of the Ancient Regime : the sedan chair, which was made by the same craftsmen as carriages, including coach-builders, painter-varnishers, etc.

本体全体に海の風景が描かれ、見事なトロンプ・ルイユ(騙し絵)と金箔が施されているこのルイ15世統治初期のチェアは、アンシャン・レジーム(旧体制)の忘れられた芸術品の一例であるセダンチェア(椅子かご)で、大型四輪馬車の建造者や塗装職人など馬車と同じ製造者が制作しました。

Two men would slip poles through iron rings on either side to carry this chair made of a wooden body covered with a thick leather top.

セダンチェアは木製の本体に厚いレザーで覆われ、2人の男性が鉄の輪を通したボールを両サイドで持って運びました。

It has moving windows and seat on the inside.

内部には可動式窓と椅子があります。

This well-restored sedan chair is rare because it is entirely covered with painted canavas, in this case featuring seascapes in the style of Adrien Manglard.

このよく保存されたセダンチェアは珍しいものです。全体が彩色されたキャンバスで覆われ、この場合、 Adrien Manglard様式の海の風景が描かれているからです。

Sedan chairs usually displayed the owner’s coats of arms, letting people know who they were.

セダンチェアには通常所有者の紋章が描かれ、誰なのかが分かるようになっていました。

A port scene is on front panel.  The back panel depicts a big naval battle running the full height of the chair while the side panels feature monochrome river divinities, rivers and tritons.

正面のパネルは港です。後部バネルには、全面に大海戦の模様が描かれ、側面パネルはモノクロームの川の神、川そしてトリトンです。

France seems to have imported the sedan chair from England around 1640.  The vehicle, which was used for short trips, kept passengers out of bad weather and protected them from splattering mud and the horse droppings that fouled the streets.

フランスは、1640年頃英国からセダンチェアを持ち込んだようです。この乗り物は、近場に出かける時に使用され、悪天候を避けることができ、また、通りを汚していた泥や馬の排泄物から身を守ることができました。

That is why it earned a reputation for being favored particularly by great ladies, nobility of the robe and prelates of the Church.

そのため、特に高貴な婦人やドレスを着た貴族、教会の高位聖職者が好んで使用していました。

The sedan chair also insulated its occupants from bustling streets and people, allowing them to assert their rank.

また、セダンチェアは込み合う通りや人ごみから隔絶され、乗車者の身分を誇示すことができました。

The sedan chair had many advantages : it was very easy to handle, convenient for short trips in the narrow streets of Paris and best of all, immediately available.

セダンチェアには利点がありました。取り扱いが容易で、パリの狭い道を通って近隣に出かけるのに便利、そして何より、即座に出発の準備ができました。

There was no needs for horses, stables, a shed and all the heavy infrastructure for coaches required.

馬や馬小屋、車庫、そして馬車に必要な重装備が不要でした。

It could be quickly and easily stowed under a landing at the bottom of staircase.

階段室の下に手軽に収納することもできました。

The sedan chair was also very economical, except for the purchase price and carriers’ fare.

セダンチェアは、購入額と運賃を除き、とても経済的でした、

It might have been a household’s only means of locomotion or a back-up if the owner possessed a coach, in which case his wife often used it.

一家の唯一の移動手段か、所有者が馬車を持っている場合は予備として所有し、その場合、夫人が頻繁に使用していたとも考えられます。

But there were some drawbacks, the main one being lack of comfort.

ただし、難点もあり、その最たるものは居住性の悪さでした。

A ride in one of these chairs was bumpy, especially if the carriers were inexperienced.  There was a risk of falls and quarrels.  Sometimes even brawls broke out between carriers when the right of way was refused.

セダンチェアの乗り心地は、特に運搬者の経験が浅い場合、ガタガタでした。チェアから落ちたり、喧嘩のリスクもありました。出会い頭に、お互いに道を譲らず、乱闘になることもありました。

Some chairs were private and public at the same time.  They began appearing in the early 17th century.  All the big cities of Europe had a chair hire service.  They could be let for short trips whose fare was set in advance.

セダンチェアは、公私双方で使用されていました。17世紀初頭に登場し、ヨーロッパの大都市では、ハイヤーのサービスがありました。予め決められた運賃で、近距離のハイヤーサービスをしていました。

Sedan chairs were part of the landscape at Versailles.  The vehicles were even used inside the Palace because they could reach as far as the foot of the king’s staircase.

スクリーンショット(2012-12-26 22.27.59)

Image: chateauversailles

セダンチェアは、ベルサイユの景観に溶け込んでいました。宮殿内でも利用する程でした。なぜかと言えば、国王の階段の間の下まで乗っていくことができたからです。

These were the royal chairs, also know as blue chairs in reference to the colour of the king’s livery which could be hired for six soldes.

このセダンチェアは王家のもので、国王のカラーからブルーチェアとも呼ばれ、6ソルドで借りることができました。

The French Revolution suddenly put an end to the thriving sedan chair trade.  Although no revolutionary law prohibited their use, they became a symbol of luxury,  class and the conspicuous display of wealth.

フランス革命により、突如、セダンチェア商売の全盛期が終焉を迎えました。革命時の法律で使用を禁止していたわけでありませんが、贅沢や身分、富を目立たせる象徴となりました。

The sight of men carrying them like animals ran counter to the spirit of the times.

人間が動物のようにセダンチェアを運搬する光景が、時の精神に相反するものだったのです。

In 19th century high society the sedan chair became a piece of furniture, a beautiful family heirloom used for exhibiting small objects like a display case.

19世紀の上流社会では、家具として使用されました。陳列ケ−スのように、小さな装飾品を展示する美しい家宝となりました。