Tags

, , , ,

This is a regular column of Dr. Hinohara in the weekend extra of The Asahi Shimbun.  I like him in the illustration below.  English translation from the original Japanese text.

朝日新聞土曜日別冊「be」に毎週掲載されている日野原先生のエッセイです。イラストがステキです。

***

be on Saturday
2012.9.15

100歳・私の証
あるがまま行く
日野原重明

100 Years Old, My Testimony

Let It Be

by Shigeaki Hinohara, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, St. Luke’s International Hospital

イギリスのリバプールに滞在した際、私はこの町出身の世界的ロックバンド「ザ・ビートルズ」のゆかりの地を訪ねました。

When I stayed in Liverpool, I explored the birthplace of the worldwide rock band “The Beatles”.

展示を眺めつつ、彼らの懐かしい音楽に耳を傾けました。メンバーのジョン・レノンさんが前衛芸術家のオノ・ヨーコさんと結婚したことも、私には印象深い出来事でした。というのも太平洋戦争中、ヨーコさんのお母様が軽井沢の別荘で過ごしていた時、私は彼女の別荘に往診したことがあったからです。

I enjoyed the exhibitions while listening to their good old music.  To me, it was a very impressive news that a member John Lennon married an avant-garde artist Yoko Ono.  For, during the Pacific War, I made a house call to examine Yoko’s mother while she was staying in her second home in Karuizawa, Nagano prefecture, Japan.

ビートルズの解散後、ジョンさんは1980年に米国ニューヨークの自宅前で、彼を待ちかまえていた男の銃弾に倒れ、亡くなりました。メンバーのポール・マッカートニーさんは、その後も演奏活動を続け、今夏のロンドン五輪の開会式で、8万人の大観衆の前で力強い歌声を披露しました。閉会式では、ジョンさんをしのぶ一幕もありました。

After the group’s break-up, John was shot to death in front of his house in New York by a man waiting for him in 1980.  Another member Paul McCartney has pursued a musical career, and he gave a performance with his powerful voice in front of eighty thousands audience in the opening ceremony of the 2012 Summer Olympics in London.   In the closing ceremony, we saw a scene honoring memory of John.

ビートルズの名曲「レット・イット・ビー(Let It Be)」の歌詞には、私が長らく抱いてきた信条と、共通の精神が読み取れます。日本語にするなら、こうです。
「私が問題を抱えたとき、メアリー母ちゃん(聖母マリア)が表れて、賢い言葉を言ってくれる。『あるがままに受け入れなさい』。そして私が落ち込んでいたとき、彼女は私の前に立ち、賢い言葉を言ってくれる。『あるがままに受け入れなさい』。世界中の失意の人々が、同じような気持で暮らしている。これが答えになるだろう。『あるがままに受け入れなさい』。」まさにその通りなのです。

One of the Beatles’ masterpieces, Let It Be, has the lyrics in which I can interpret the shared spirit with my belief that I have embraced for long time.  Here is a Japanese translation:
“When I get in trouble, my mom Mary (Virgin Mary) appears and gives me this wise words, “Accept it as it is.”  When I get depressed, she stands in front of me and gives me this wise words, “Accept it as it is”.   There are broken people around the world, living with the similar feelings.  This may be the answer to them.  ‘Accept it as it is.'”  This is exactly what it is.

10月4日、私は101歳の誕生日を迎えます。前日の3日、東京・晴海で「記念祝賀の夕べ」を開いて頂き、バルカン室内管弦楽団(柳澤寿男氏指揮)に、平和への祈りを込めた、ショスタコーヴィッチの室内交響曲「ファシズムと戦争の犠牲者に捧ぐ」を演奏していただきます。ご関心のある方はぜひ事務局(03-5550-7168)までお電話下さい。

On this 4th of October, I become 101 years old.  On 3rd, a day before my birthday, a commemoration concert evening will be held with the Chamber Orchestra of Balkan conducted by Toshio Yanagisawa, performing Dmitri Shostakovich’s string quartet “To the Victims of Fascism and War”, praying for peace.  If you would like to join the prayer, contact the office at 03-5550-7168 for the details.

ポールさんの歌声に後押しされ、私も「あるがまま」のエッセーで、争いをやめない世界の国々の将来を案じ、今後も平和を訴え続けたいと、決意を新たにしました。画家の小田桐昭さんには、今回の挿絵でビートルズの先頭に私を描いて頂き、驚くと共に、大変光栄に感じました。(聖路加国際病院理事長)

Given the push by the Paul’s singing voice, I renewed my resolve to pursue my appeal for peace while concerning about the future of those nations that don’t stop the conflicts.  I was surprised, at the same time, I felt great honor that the artist Akira Odagiri drew myself at the head of the Beatles in this illustration.

Image: The Asahi Shimbun

Note: This translation is my own.