Tags

, , ,

<From Château de Versailles YouTube video>
< Château de VersaillesのYouTubeビデオより>

Narration in the Video

Versailles, from Louis XIII to the French Revolution

Versailles wasn’t built in a day.
It all begun in 1629 when King XIII had a hunting lodge built, restored sometime later in stone and brick château.
King Luis XIV inherited this small château.
In 1666 the sovereign embarked on major building work.
Over 50 years, he continued to extend and transform to what became a largest château, the Palace of Versailles.
Architect Louis de Vau designed two symmetrical grand apartments for king and queen.
Louis XIV moved his government and court to Versailles.
After a new program has worked, Jules Hardouin-Mansart replaced the terrace overlooking to the grounds by the hall of mirrors which became the court’s main ceremony and reception room.
Mansart further extended the palace to accommodate the royal family, the court and all the government departments. With the servants, the kitchens and the stable stuff close to 10,000 people are bustling about the palace.
At the end of his reign, Luis XIV moved his bed chamber to the center of the palace. This room was the hub of the king’s daily ceremonial routine above the Versailles courtyard.
Towering over the other buildings is a royal chapel finely built by Mansart in the same scale of the palace.
When King Louis XV moved to the Versailles, he broke the strict code of etiquette, fitted out the smaller apartments for more comfort and privacy.
At the end of his reign, Louis XV built what the palace was missing, a real Opera House. Architect Gabriel modernized the façade closes to the town.
In 1789, the French Revolution forced the royal family to leave the Versailles for Paris. The future of the palace looked uncertain.

ビデオ中のナレーションの和訳

ヴェルサイユ、ルイ13世からフランス革命まで

ヴェルサイユは1日にしてならず。
すべては、1629年に国王ルイ13世が狩猟用の館を建て、後に石とレンガ造りの城に建て替えたことに始まります。
国王ルイ14世がこの小規模な城を引き継ぎました。
1666年、国王は大規模な造営に着手しました。
その後50年間で拡張し続け、世界最大級の城、ベルサイユ宮殿へと変貌をとげました。
建築家ルイ・ド・ヴォは、王と王妃の居室を左右対象にデザインしました。
国王ルイ14世は政府と宮廷をヴェルサイユに移転しました。
すべてが順調にすすむと、ジュール・アドイン・マンサールは、庭園を一望できるテラスを鏡の間に造りかえました。そして、鏡の間は宮廷の主だった儀式とレセプションの部屋となりました。
マンサールは王家や宮廷、政府を収容するために宮殿を増築しました。召使いや台所、厩の職員など1万人近い人員が、宮殿を駆け回っていました。
ルイ14世統治の終盤に、寝室を宮殿の中心部に移しました。ここはベルサイユの中庭の上に位置し、国王の日々の儀式の中枢となりました。
マンサールによって、王の教会が宮殿と同じようなスケールで他の建物を見下ろすように建築されました。
国王ルイ15世がヴェルサイユに移り住むと、厳しいしきたりを排除し、居心地のよいプライバシーの保てる小規模な部屋に建て替えました。
ルイ15世は最晩年に、宮殿に不足していた本物のオペラハウスを建造しました。
建築家ガブリエルは市内側の正面を近代風に建て替えました。
1789年フランス革命により、王家はヴェルサイユを去りパリに移り住むことを余儀なくされました。宮殿の将来は不確かなものになりました。